The Governing Body of Lord Deramore’s School has a strategic role in ensuring our school community knows and understands the aims and objectives of our school and that its direction, focus and ambition is realised. They have collective responsibility for financial decisions that are made in the context of how the school is run.

The school governors are a group of individuals, from a variety of backgrounds, who work as a team to support the school in making sure the priorities established are the right ones for school improvement.

Full Governing Body meetings are held at least once a term and, in addition, there are three committees that meet at least termly.

The Staffing & Performance Management Committee advises the Governing Body on the efficient and effective use of staffing resources. They determine, in accordance with the School Pay Policy, the level of salary for new appointments and ensure that appraisal procedures are followed. They also promote and evaluate continuing professional development for all staff. Through good employment practices and safer recruitment, the committee monitors the correlation between teaching quality, pupil progress and pay progression.

The Finance Committee ensures the school is managed well financially by following the Schools Financial Value Standard (SFVS) as well as monitoring and evaluating the school’s financial performance. They ensure the school complies with the principles of Best Value when making decisions about how available resources are utilised. They have direct control over substantial amounts of delegated funds, making key decisions about the allocation of financial resources and guarantee that the school meets all its statutory obligations.

The Curriculum Committee works to plan, monitor and review the academic and pastoral arrangements of the school in order to ensure that a broad and balanced curriculum is delivered in line with the aims of the school and the requirements of the National Curriculum. As well as monitoring curriculum provision, pupil progress and the achievement of all pupil groups, the committee also monitors attendance. All governors are appraised of the assessment procedures in school and discuss the impact of these on pupil achievement. Members of staff report to this committee on subject leader roles, the quality of teaching and learning and inclusive practices.

If you are interested in being a governor please contact the school office for an information pack.

Being a Parent Governor

City of York Council Governance Service

National Governors’ Association (NGA)

Governing Body Membership

Category of GovernorAppointing bodyNameTerm of OfficeCommittee membershipAdditional responsibilities
HeadteacherBy virtue of the officeJames Rourke24.4.2017 - ongoingAll Committees
StaffStaff Rachel Carr07.11.2017 - 06.11.2021Curriculum & Staffing
Local AuthorityLAConnie Cullen14.12.2016 - 13.12.2020Curriculum & Staffing
ParentParent Ebony Wonnacott05.3.2018 - 04.3.2022Curriculum & Staffing, PayCurriculum & Staffing Vice Chair
ParentParentDoaa Shohaieb05.3.2018 - 04.3.2022Finance
Co-optedGoverning BodyStephen Danby23.3.2015 - 22.3.2019Finance, Appeal
Co-optedGoverning BodyRichard Frost23.3.2015 - 22.3.2019Finance, AppealFGB & Finance Chair
Co-optedGoverning BodyJane King23.3.2015 - 22.3.2019Curriculum & Staffing
Co-optedGoverning BodySue Perutz23.3.2015 - 22.3.2019Curriculum & Staffing
Co-optedGoverning BodyKate Robson14.12.2015 - 13.12.2019Finance, Appeal
Co-optedGoverning BodyGeoff Harrison27.3.2017 - 26.3.2021Finance, Pay
Co-optedGoverning BodyRachel Lovelady10.07.2017 - 09.07.2021Curriculum & Staffing
AssociateGoverning BodyChris Wood10.07.2017 - 09.07.2018
FoundationDavid Foster 01.9.2014 - 31.8.2018Finance
FoundationLady Penelope Mowbray01.9.2014 - 31.8.2018Curriculum & Staffing, Pay
Foundation Verna Campbell02.11.2012 - 01.11.2018Curriculum & Staffing, PayCurriculum & Staffing Chair, FGB Vice Chair
ClerkJanet EdgarFrom 26.02.18

Governing Body Register of Business Interests 2016-17

Name of GovernorNature of business interestDate of start of interest
Steve DanbyPlayscheme - company owner2005
Ebony WonnacottPlayscheme - company owner2005

Governor Links

Early Years D J Foster & S Danby
Key Stage 1S Perutz & E Wonnacott
Lower Key Stage 2K Robson & C Cullen
Upper Key Stage 2V Campbell. R Frost & Lady P Mowbray
SEND & Child Protection S Perutz
Pupil PremiumR Lovelady
Health & SafetyS Danby & G Harrison
ICTR Frost

Clerk to the Governors:

Janet Edgar
c/o Governance Unit,
Mill House, North Street,
York YO10 6JD

Governor Attendance Register

Full Governing Body Attendance 2016 -2017

Committee Attendance

P = present

AC = Absent – apologies sent

AN = absent no apologies

R = resigned

  FINANCE COMMITTEE 11/11/2015 27/04/2016 22/06/2016  
  Sheena Powley (Headteacher) P P P  
  David Foster (Chair) P P P  
  Steve Danby AN AC P  
  Richard Frost P P P  
  Sue Perutz AC P P  
  Chris Wood P AC AC  


  STAFFING AND PERFORMANCE MANAGEMENT 20/10/2015 27/01/2016 15/06/2016  
  Sheena Powley (Headteacher) P P P  
  Verna Campbell (Chair) P P P  
  Camilla Hodges AN AN AN  
  Lady Nell Mowbray P AN P  
  Ebony Wonnacott P P P  


  CURRICULUM COMMITTEE 08/12/2015 02/03/2016  11/05/2016
  Sheena Powley (Headteacher) P P  P
  Verna Campbell P P AC
  Jane King P P P
  Lady Nell Mowbray P P  P
  Ann Pye P P  P
  Ebony Wonnacott   AC P